Trying Something New

For months and months I’ve been saying I am going to get off the Western Medicine pill roller coaster, and today I FINALLY took a step toward it. I took a half day off from work next week and made an appointment to go see an acupuncturist/Chinese herbalist. I’ve heard wonderful things about these treatments from people you would never envision getting alternatively treated, so naturally I’m very curious.

For a couple of years, I’ve been feeling as though there is something physically “off” with me. I’m in excellent health as far as my doctor is concerned. However, I don’t think constant fatigue, zero energy, debilitating anxiety and irritable moods (among other symptoms too personal to advertise) are characteristics of an excellently healthy 32 year old, so I’m ditching my pill-popping doctor for a while and seeing how the Eastern medicine side lives.

I’ve already been taking some steps toward change. I’ve been seeing a chiropractor for the past few weeks, and my 2-year neck kink is gone, plus I don’t feel the need for a deep tissue slaughter between my shoulder blades every minute of the day anymore. I’ve started taking Omega-3 fish oil. Diet and exercise…well, lifetime habits take time! I’m starting slow, ok?

So we’ll see how it goes. I can hardly wait to post again about this acupuncture herbalist thingy. One week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

