Update

I haven’t written here for like 6 months, is that right? Holy cow. As with everything else I try to undertake, blogging left me feeling overwhelmed with an “all or nothing” attitude. I felt like I didn’t have the time to sit down and write earth-shattering posts daily or even weekly, so I just gave up entirely.

Yesterday I started reading a popular blog and was surprised to see that on occassion there were entries that were one short paragraph, a thought blurb that the author probably just wanted to get down on paper (or computer screen, I guess). I thought to myself, if this blogger with all his followers goes sometimes weeks without a post and then randomly types in a one sentence thought, I can stop neglecting my blog. There are no rules to blogging after all.

The blog I am referring to is “penmachine.com.” The author died last week from cancer, and had written a post to be published after his death. Fascinating. The post-mortem entry was interesting, but what I found more interesting were the entries he had written months, weeks and even days prior to his death. When I find out someone has died, I am obsessed with what was going through their mind in the final days. This blogger gave me a glimpse into his mind.

I am now inspired to write whatever I want whenever I want, and not worry about whether people are reading it or not. This is a record of events and thoughts for me…my life.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Paul
    May 11, 2011 @ 01:01:14

    So true, MJ. There are no rules to blogging. I think that's both the best thing about the process and in some ways the worst thing about it.Like you, I get frustrated because it seems I should have something profound to say or at least some profound question to ask. But there's not much going on in my head, so it's hard to be profound.I'm glad to see you're back. As a matter of fact, I was about to thank you for your response and chide you for your lengthy silence. But I know you've been busy and distracted. A lot of life happening. I'm off to read penmachine. (One more distraction from writing, of course….!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

