Discouraged

I am trying to make something positive out of a bad situation. Bad situation = not having a job, crappy economy. Something positive = having the time to explore a new career path and pursue my interests. I spent almost three hours with my laptop yesterday reading up on job requirements for the positions that are in demand, and positions I might be interested in. Instead of becoming excited and enlightened, I became overwhelmed and deflated. My determination? My college degree and work experience is completely outdated and practically worthless.

I’m sure that’s a terribly pessimistic thing to say, but it’s true. I am a print journalism major. Yes, at one time I could write a decent article for a newspaper, but no one cares that I wrote “hard hitting” news 10 years ago about a college campus bar having to close because of permit issues. Yes, I have a good 7 years of experience in different industries with impressive titles like “Marketing Director” and “Program Manager” and “Vice-President of Business Development,” but those titles are as vague and meaningless as my experience in “marketing.”

Today, people want writers who are experts in some other field that just happen to be excellent writers as well. There are no jobs for people who are just good at writing. They want marketing people who have a very specific skillset, a master’s degree and 10 billion years of experience, but will settle for $10 an hour and no benefits (well, maybe only here in Idaho, but still). There are no professional level jobs for people who only have a little bit of experience but are willing to learn. Because there are so few jobs and so many job candidates, employers aren’t willing to hire someone and invest in their training and future with the business. They just want to hire someone they can throw into the ring on the first day. They know if that person doesn’t work out there are 100 more people waiting in the wings.

So where does that leave me? I keep thinking I really like computer work and I am pretty good at learning and troubleshooting programs, but I am not a database-developer-this or a network-administrator-that. I don’t know HTML or XML, but I can design and publish a decent web site using site builder applications. I don’t have an assistant or a staff, but I can coordinate logistics for small and medium sized events.

Obviously there are other candidates out there with a lot more and better experience than me, and I am dealing with the dilemma I thought I would only experience once: How do I get experience if no one will hire me? I am feeling like if I want to get a long-lasting job – scratch that – a long-lasting career, I am going to have to go back to college year one and start all over again. Argh!!!!!

Yes, I do feel sorry for myself. I feel like I am slipping, and I have been steadily slipping for the past 4 years. I know I have to have faith that there is a plan for me, and my job right now is to take care of my son and enjoy the time I have with him. And I do, Lord knows I do. Especially on days like today when he is not feeling well and only wants his mommy to hold him. There is nowhere else I would rather be than cuddling with him at home.

But there’s just that pesky mortgage bill…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Paul
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 21:12:36

    Your post brought tears to my eyes, not just your story, but the larger truth. You are slipping, along with millions of other Americans. Our whole country seems to be slipping. I feel a blog topic coming. Thanks for sharing, Mandee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

