It’s time to get serious about fun

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted. I haven’t been as vigilant as I wanted to be about writing this blog. We just celebrated my son’s first birthday, and that first year to me was the most important time to be consistent about documenting our lives. Needless to say I have not done that to my own satisfaction.

Ok, now that that’s been said, my vow to myself is to put it in the past and not beat myself up about it any longer. I will no longer dwell on what I did wrong or have not accomplished, whether at work, school, parenting, money or relationships. I will not worry about tomorrow or things that “could happen.” No more worrying about things I can’t control. There is only today. I will put my fears and worries in God’s hands, and I will put my dreams, ideas and goals on paper (or on blog).

I am, as of today, officially unemployed. I have to admit I am very excited about it. I’ve been working full time at a $10 an hour administrative data entry job simply for a paycheck. I have missed my son immensely, and no matter how hard I’ve tried, I have not been able to “make the time” to do what’s important to me. I don’t care what the experts say, if you are working 8-5 Monday through Friday, there simply isn’t enough time to do the things that are important to you. Time is finite, it’s not some abstract theory. You can’t make time.

So on this, my first morning of freedom, I am trying desperately to organize my thoughts and stay on task with things I want to do so as not to get overwhlemed and do nothing, as is my status quo. I started reading a blog last night called Zen Habits (www.zenhabits.net), and I am trying to put some of the advice into practice. Starting with prioritizing what’s important to me – writing. Yes, I am worried about money, but I will not dwell on it (see second paragraph above). I will instead use my time and energy to do things that are important and fun, and I have faith that everything else will work itself out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

